Posted in:

Ordinary Matter

Since Marie Curie won the first of her Nobel Prizes in 1903, nineteen other such prizes have been awarded to women. Australian author Laura Elvery has research each of these remarkable women and she has written an anthology of short stories, tightly or more loosely, linked to each one of these women.

The collection of twenty short stories in ‘Ordinary Matter’ are set in such diverse places as the Grand Canyon, Stockholm, Queensland, and Paris and vary in genre; historical, futuristic, scientific, but they hang together with the common bond that each features a female winner of the Nobel Prize for Science.

Every story is prefaced with the year, name of the woman who won and the achievement which was acknowledged with the Nobel Prize, giving the reader an opportunity to make the connection between the prize winner and the story. This link at times is quite obscure or abstract; however, by using the Author’s Notes at the end of the book, this link usually becomes much clearer.

Readers who are fans of short stories will doubtlessly enjoy this collection and appreciate the way in which the author has cleverly intertwined fact with fiction. Others after consulting the Author’s Notes will find themselves wanting to learn more about these exceptional women; the obstacles they had to overcome, and the sacrifices they made.

Author Laura Elvery
Publisher University of Queensland Press (UQP)
ISBN 9780702262760
Distributor University of Queensland Press (UQP)
Released September 2020