Five Kingdoms: Book 1. Sky Raiders

Distributor:       Booktopia/Amazon 
ISBN:                 9781471121883
Publisher:         Simon & Schuster
Release Date:    


Ian Banks

Author :  Brandon Mull 

Although this is billed as the first book in a Fantasy Series for 7-12 year olds, it’s a great read for anyone who loves Fantasy Sci-Fi, as it holds the interest right up until the final word, something that is not always achievable and while definitely Fantasy, could almost be believable.  Well almost!

Cole and his friends are having a high old time of it at Halloween, but somehow something goes wrong, but how wrong, Cole is yet to find out.

He and his friends go door knocking and come across a house that, while not all that dark and mysterious, is definitely different and known as the scariest house in town. As the front door is wide open, of course they decided to go into the house.

His friends are sucked away, via some mysterious means and Cole decides he want to go as well, so jumps into the vortex. Once the group arrive at what seems to be a magical place called the Outskirts, they soon come to realise all is not as it seems in this magical, but mysterious place.

Dark deeds are done in this place, a place that turns out to be halfway between nowhere at all and somewhere, and nothing, but nothing at all, works as it should.

Their adventures begin when the friends find themselves being sold off as slaves. Cole becomes a Sky-raider, and then begins to realise what he is up against in order to save his friends from a fate worse than death. Along the way he makes new friends, with Slavery becoming another new adventure.

When castles start to fly and giant chocolate chip cookies floating in an sea of milk means something is not quite right and a giant checkerboard moving on its own all come together as a fun park, he knows things will never be the same again.

Shades of Terry Pratchett, Robert Asprin and the modern day influences of Alice in Wonderland all come together in this completely left-of- centre, humorous look at the world in-between sleep and waking, as Cole comes to terms with exactly what he has let himself in for when he set out to rescue his friends.

A fantastic first book which sets the standard for the others to following in what will undoubtedly become an popular ‘otherworld ‘ series for young and the not so young.